The Foundation for Delta Educational and Economic Development (DEED) is a 501(c)(3) organization focused on empowering youth, women, and families through educational and economic development. The Kansas City, Missouri Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. established the DEED Foundation in 1998 to fundraise for youth scholarships and community programming and to facilitate the acquisition of a “Delta House” for housing of its community service initiatives. In 2015, DEED purchased a historic property now known as the Athenaeum and renamed to The Delta Athenaeum to affirm its commitment to this founding purpose.

Mission and Values

DEED is committed to improving the lives of youth, women, and families in the greater Kansas City area by sharing educational resources, promoting youth development, advocating for social justice, and advancing economic development through strategic partnerships, programs, and community initiatives. This collaborative effort is the key to our vision of being a positive, public, community resource committed to investing and developing within the urban core. Programmatic activity aligns across four key pillars:

  1. Educational Empowerment
  2. Social Justice and Equity
  3. Youth Development
  4. Economic Development

The vision for the future includes a Delta District of affordable housing. DEED has purchased several properties located adjacent to the Delta Athenaeum, with the goal of developing a diverse residential community of affordable, market-rate, and special needs housing. The planning process for 50 – 90 apartment units is underway through engagement with neighbors, social services agencies, and housing developers. The revitalization of vacant lots and distressed homes will enhance the streetscape of Linwood Boulevard and complement the vibrant retail development in the Troost corridor. 


DEED Group Photo

Seated: Nicole Smith, Alaina Brooks, Bonita Powell, Debra Davis, Nicole Bohannan ;Standing: Marceda Starks, Consuelo Ross, Natalie Sims-Patton, Jasmine Thompson, Lorene James, Sandi Moss ;Not pictured: Lauren Allen, Dionne Greenfield, Selena Smith

DEED Board Officers 2023-2024

Bonita D. Powell


Alaina R. Brooks

Vice President

Nicole A. Smith


Debra A. Davis


Nicole L. Bohannon

Financial Secretary

DEED Board Members 2023-2024

Lauren Allen

Nicole Bohannan

Alaina Brooks

Debra Davis

Dionne Greenfield

Lorene James

Sandi Moss

Bonita Powell

Consuelo Ross

Natalie Sims-Patton

Nicole Smith

Selena Smith

Marceda Starks

Jasmine Thompson

DEED Board of Directors Application

Deadline: September 30th

Scroll to Top